Read about ARPA-E in this PowerPoint slide deck — ARPA-E presentation to Colorado State Univ Ft Collins June 11 2018.

The following speaker bios are in the order of appearance during the November 28, 2017 ARPA-E Workshop hosted by the Collaboratory.  All times are considered Mountain Standard Time zone.  All workshop sessions were live streamed.  Click here to read bios.

Click here to view any sessions that were held on Nov 28

Downloadable document:  ARPA-E workshop agenda – Nov 28 2017

November 28, 2017 Sessions Detailed below

10:30 -11:00 am      Registration & Networking

11:00 – 11:15 am
— Welcome Remarks (Speaker: Maury Dobbie, Collaboratory Executive Director and MC of workshop)
— Collaboratory history, vision for the future, purpose of the Industry Advisory Board, and expertise within University of Colorado Boulder, Colorado School of Mines, Colorado State University and National Renewable Energy Laboratory.  (Speakers:  Terri Fiez, Vice Chancellor of Research and Innovation from University of Colorado Boulder and Chair of the Collaboratory Executive Board / Alan Rudolph, Vice President of Research from Colorado State University and past Chair of the Collaboratory Executive Board)

11:15 – 12:00: Session #1 — Introduction to ARPA-E (Speaker: Bryan Willson, Director, Energy Institute, Colorado State University)

  • History, Mission and How ARPA-E operates
  • Risk Profile
  • Focused versus Open Solicitations
  • Review Process
  • Elements of Successful Proposals and Tricks of the Trade

12:00 – 12:30: Lunch served.  No live streaming of workshop.

12:30 – 1:15:   Technology-to-Market (T2M) (Speaker: Ted Weaver, President, First Tracks Consulting Service)

1:15 – 2:00:     How to write a winning ARPA-E OPEN FOA proposal (Speaker: Howard Branz, Senior Research Associate, University of Colorado, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute (RASEI))

2:00 – 2:15:     Break. No live streaming of workshop.

2:15 – 3:15:     Panel of Successful ARPA-E Awardees Sharing Best Practices

Moderator: Bryan Willson


— Colorado School of Mines:   Ryan O’Hayre, Professor and directs the Advanced Energy Materials Laboratory

— University of Colorado-Boulder:   Greg Rieker, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

— Colorado State University:   John McKay, Professor of Plant Evolutionary Genomics

— National Renewable Energy Laboratory:  Aaron Ptak, Senior Scientist, National Center for Photovoltaics

3:15 – 4:00:  Collaboratory cost share opportunities, joint projects and matchmaking on upcoming projects.  Wrap up, Q&A, discussion around suggested partnerships, next steps  (Speakers: Bryan WillsonHoward Branz, Bob McGrath (Director, RASEI),  & Ryan Richards (Professor and Associate Vice President for Research, Colorado School of Mines)

4:00: Adjourn workshop

4:00 – 5:00 pm:   A networking and team building reception with beverages and appetizers.